Weather News

Tropical cyclone names this season

Ben Domensino, Friday October 18, 2019 - 14:18 EDT

Australia's 2019/20 tropical cyclone season officially starts in two weeks. So, what will this season's cyclones be called?

The Bureau of Meteorology maintains a list of names, which it assigns to tropical cyclones that form in Australia's area of responsibility. This list is arranged alphabetically and alternates between male and female. Last season's final tropical cyclone was Ann, so the first cyclone to form in the upcoming 2019/20 season will be....Blake.

Image: Tropical Cyclone Yasi off the Queensland coast in February 2011. Source: NASA/Aqua 

On average, we usually see about 11 tropical cyclones form in the Australian region each season, which runs from November to April. However, it's woth noting that tropical cyclones can also form in the Australian region outside these months.

Here are the names that will be given to the next 11 tropical cyclones that develop in Australia's area of responsibility:

  • Blake
  • Claudia
  • Damien
  • Esther
  • Ferdinand
  • Gretel
  • Harold
  • Imogen
  • Joshua
  • Kimi
  • Lucas

Anyone can request to have their name added to Australia's tropical cyclone naming list. However, the request has to be submitted to the Bureau of Meteorology in writing and if it does get accepted, it'll take more than a decade before it's used.

More breaking news

Sydney Morning Herald
ABC News
News Limited

Display Your Local Weather

Weather News

WA's drought 'the driest the land has been in 40 years'

11:34 EST

Parts of Western Australia are in the grip of one of the worst droughts some pastoralists have seen in more than 40 years.

Trees down and homes damaged as wet and windy weather hits Adelaide

11:10 EST

South Australia's State Emergency Service (SES) received more than 150 call-outs as strong winds and heavy rain hit Adelaide overnight and this morning.